About the Bridges Inn at Whitcomb House
This charming inn with Victorian touches is situated in the quaint and quiet village of West Swanzey, five miles from downtown Keene and a stone’s throw from the historic Thompson Covered Bridge. The décor of this building is lovely with uniquely decorated rooms, tin ceiling, and many antiques. There are five beautifully decorated guest rooms, each with private bath, and each named for one of the nearby covered bridges for which the inn is named. All guest rooms are on the second floor; the house was built in 1792 and was not designed for accessibility.
There are many common areas for guests to enjoy, such as the double parlor, dining room, piano area, and in the warmer weather, the screened-in porch, and gazebo.
More than 220 years of history.
Whitcomb House, early 1900s
This historic house, called the “Old Mansion” and “Stratton Place” over the years, was built circa 1792 by Richard Stratton, the wealthy owner of a cotton and woolen mill in the village of West Swanzey. Richard Stratton’s son, John, married Susannah Whitcomb and they lived in the “Old Mansion.” In 1841, the house was sold to Roswell Whitcomb. George E. Whitcomb later became the owner, and upon his death, the house was inherited by his children, Edna Clementina Whitcomb and George E. Whitcomb Jr., known as “Ellie.”